#NewTwitter – All The Rage or Not So Much?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About 3 and a half months ago, I wrote a post titled  “Multimedia to Twitter: The Beginning of Something Beautiful or the End of Something Simple?”.  The post went up a little while after Twitter had announced that “New Twitter” was on it’s way.  It was basically my reaction to the idea of a new Twitter; was it going to ruin Twitter’s original simplicity, was it going to tie up the Twitter lines (remember the Fair Whale World Cup Phenomena?), or was it going to add to the excitement of the 140 characters?

Well, here we are about 2 weeks after the launch and my personal account still does not have New Twitter!  BUMMER.  However, my work account that I manage for Special Olympics New Jersey does, and I have to be honest … I’m not quite sure how I feel about it.  Granted, there is still time for the adjustment period … but, there are a few things I don’t like.

  • The fact that it takes up nearly your entire screen, only leaving you with 41 pixels on either side of the Twitter box to brand your profile.  (Some allow more, but if you want all computers to be able to see your branding, 41 pixels is the way to go.  Check out the article How To Make Twitter Backgrounds For the New Twitter.com (Thanks @BlueSS for the heads up!)
  • Maybe it’s just me being lazy, but the steps to find out who ReTweeted your information just seem obnoxious.  I hate having to click “Retweets” and then “Your Tweets, Retweeted” and then click the arrow next to the Tweet just to see the users pictures.  Can’t there just be a list if your Tweets that are ReTweeted?! Am I alone on this issue?
  • When I click on someone’s Twitter handle, 3 out of 4 times it’s because I want to see their page … not just their content (I see that in my Timeline already).  I guess convenience wise, it could be cool for people who want to see the user’s last 5 Tweets, but it’s just another step to have to click on “View Full Profile” if I want to see their page.  What happened to simplicity?

I could probably go on, but I want to know what some of your New Twitter pet peeves are.  Knowing Twitter (hopefully), as soon as New Twitter has been out for a while they’ll do some renovations and fix some things that have been bothering multiple people.  What does everyone out there think?  Is New Twitter all the rage, or not so much?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

