Testing Testing 1, 2, 3…

Grad schools require you to take these tests in order to get in.  There are multiple types of tests, depending on what program you want to get your Masters in.  It’s kind of like the schools are saying, “Oh, hey.. you got your BA or BS, or whatever else you got, and you graduated .. but that’s not good enough.  Pay for this, do well, and then MAYBE we’ll consider you.” (Okay, I’m a little bitter because I hate them…)

The kicker to this is people tell you not to worry about it.. not to let the test psyche you out. For people like me, who aren’t great at standardized tests (never have been) … it’s hard not to psyche yourself out!

I had to take the Miller Analogy Test today (this is to this, as that is to that) Oy Vey.  This lovely test was the last step to applying to the grad school of my choice. Talk about intimidating. I studied for days.. no, weeks (months, dare I say?) .. on end for it. How was I not supposed to think about the fact that this could be the deciding factor that gets me accepted to (or denied from) grad school?!

The final results said I did an “average job” … and according to what the school of my choice wants, I should be fine.

But, of course … now I’m playing the waiting game. I have to wait & see if my test results are good enough for the school of my choice, and f they’re not I need to take it again (and again and again, until they ARE good enough). The anxiety should be over, right?  Wrong.  The test is done.. the application is in.. and I have no idea if I’m going to get in.

Argh. Everyone, keep your fingers crossed please.

This is my life…  In Progress.

2 thoughts on “Testing Testing 1, 2, 3…

  1. Andy says:

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed. The MATTs sound like fun. Know what else is fun? Having the vet hand you a $1500 for your dog you’ve had for a week and a half. You’ll get in to the schools. Stop worrying. Worrying never added a day to anyone’s life.

Leave a Reply

