The Love / Hate Relationship of a First Year Grad Student

So … it’s been a while since I last posted … seems to be a bad habit of mine.  However, now I have an excuse (maybe?) : GRAD SCHOOL  (the lovely reason for me having this blog in the first place)!

I thought I’d take a little bit of time to explain the love / hate relationship I’ve developed with Grad School (well, maybe not hate…) since I started just about two months ago.

Let’s start with the good stuff…

I love Grad School!  I love knowing that all of the information I’m learning will be applied to an amazing job in the field that I love in two years.  I love learning information that will one day help me, help students the way they need to be helped.  The courses are interesting, the material is 100% relatable, the professors are so passionate about what they’re teaching, and everyone in my classes (no more than 12 people in any of my classes) all have the same passion I do.  Who could ask for a better educational setting?!  I couldn’t have chosen a better program, in my opinion.

Image

Now … after that I bet you’re all wondering “so, where does the “hate” come into play?”.

Well, like I said – hate is a strong word … I don’t really hate anything about my program, the school, or the professors.  What I hate is that I was SO out of practice in the “school” world (almost 3 years feels like an eternity).  I wish I had come to the conclusion sooner that this is what I wanted to do with the rest of my life!

I wouldn’t have been out of the “writing papers, studying, and tests” mindset.

Also, all of papers now must be written using the APA 6 style …. all of my undergrad papers were written using MLA (I can’t even remember what number now).  THIS is definitely going to take some getting used to.

Long story short, it seems that all the stress and re-getting used to the schoolwork environment is totally worth it.  While, I’m not excited about my stress level rising (which is inevitable), I am pretty excited about the up and coming classes and projects.

One day at a time, right?!

This is my life…  In Progress.

Leave a Reply

