Motivation Gets You Everywhere…

It’s officially been a year since I started this journey into higher education, and I have to  say, it’s been quite a ride.  Ups and downs, bumps and bruises (figuratively speaking, of course), positives and negatives (mostly positives).  I’ve learned a lot, and am still learning for sure, but something has recently become extremely apparent to me.

A little background info… school wasn’t my strongest suit as an undergrad, or previous to that, honestly.  I wasn’t a BAD student, by any means.  I was your average, care more about extra curricular activities  and having fun with friends while putting in the bare minimum for schoolwork but still getting by, type of undergrad (weren’t a lot of us?).

I was lucky. I got a job out of college, worked for about three years, and realized it was time for something new; something I truly loved to do.  I got into Grad School, landed an assistantship and currently am working with some of the best people I’ve ever met in my life.  I love my job… everything about it.  I love the classes I’m taking, the things I’m learning about and how I can easily apply it into my daily work life – it’s amazing!

Here’s the not so “happy go lucky” part.  I’M BROKE.  Every grad student, or person who has been in my shoes is laughing right now – doing the “been there, done that” dance.  I’m so lucky to have the assistantship that I have, and I am WAY better off than a lot of grad students who aren’t as lucky as I am – so I’m not complaining, so much as I’m making a blatant statement about my financial situation.

I have rent to pay, bills to pay, groceries to buy, and myself to take care of and somehow with an assistantship that gives me a bi-weekly stipend (and pays for grad school), and teaching 3 Zumba classes a week it’s still not enough.  It’s time to pick up another job.

When I came to the conclusion that I would have to pick up another job, I was slightly upset.  I kept wondering how I was going to do it all.  Today, somehow, I found some sort of clarity. Something in my head clicked, and told me exactly how I was going to do it.  Something said… the way to do it is to JUST DO IT.

I have a year left of school – in that year the classes I have left are my internship and my thesis courses.  That’s it! Please note, I use the term “that’s it” loosely, because I’m well aware of how much work is going to have to go into both of those things.  That means one more year of working a bunch of side jobs along with classes and work, and one more year of freaking out because I have to work when I probably should be in the library.  It’s only a year.  I can do a year of that!  It’s almost like being able to see where the light at the end of the tunnel is, before you get there.

In under a year I’ll be applying for jobs, hopefully landing myself back up in North Jersey or maybe even in NYC.  Maybe I’ll end up somewhere completely different, who knows!  The excitement of where this schooling and the job I have now is taking me is so empowering that having to pick up another job isn’t even phasing me as much as it once had.  I’ve accomplished so much more than I ever thought I would in the last year, and I’m so proud to be where I am – I can only imagine where the next year is going to take me.

own-destiny

Sure, this post was a slight rant about my financial life and where I hope to be going .. but, sometimes you’ve got to take a step back and realize what’s motivating you instead of what’s potentially holding you back.  You have to realize that you truly are the creator if your own destiny.  This is only going to push me to work harder and be more successful – it’s my time to shine (as cheesy and cliche as that may sound) … and I cant wait for more.

This is my life…  In Progress.

Leave a Reply

